CHOC Hospital Earns National Recognition for Excellence in Respiratory Care

Michael Peters
Thursday, March 25, 2021
CHOC Hospital Earns National Recognition for Excellence in Respiratory Care

CHOC Hospital is the only children’s hospital on the West Coast and one of just three children’s hospitals in the nation to be recognized by the American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC) with the 2021-22 Apex Recognition Award, which honors respiratory care departments for best practices and high-quality care.

“Respiratory care departments everywhere are coming off a hard year. Their skills and stamina have been tested like never before. As a vital component to a patient’s care team, respiratory therapists work hard each day to deliver quality patient care,” said Sheri Tooley, BSRT, RRT, RRT-NPS, AE-C, CPFT, FAARC, AARC President. “These teams reach high standards and bring specialized skills, unique to respiratory care departments. We are thrilled to honor these organizations as Apex Recognition Award recipients.”

The AARC Apex Recognition Award was developed in 2017 as a way for AARC’s board of directors to recognize respiratory care departments that exhibit high quality patient care. Just 26 organizations from throughout the U.S. were recognized this year.

“CHOC is thrilled to once again receive the Apex Recognition Award. Our mighty brigade of respiratory care therapists is an essential component of the high-quality patient care we are committed to providing to every patient, every day, and their expertise and resilience has been on full display over the past year,” said Melanie Patterson, DNP, MHA, RN, vice president, patient care services and chief nursing officer, CHOC. “Their skills and bedside manner are invaluable assets to a patient’s outcomes and to our environment of care.”

The AARC is dedicated to supporting the respiratory care profession. The award program distinguishes facilities for their commitment to excellence in professional development, evidence-based care, patient safety, patient satisfaction and quality improvement. The Apex Recognition Award includes five categories for recognition: acute care hospitals, long-term care facilities, home medical equipment (HME) companies, educational programs and dedicated transport teams.

What You Should Know About Weeks Before Listing Your Home For Sale

11 High Cost Inspection Traps

Learn more

10 Secrets Every New Home Buyer Should Know

Buy a New Home or a Resale?

Learn more

Get a list of all recent home sales in your area.

Find Out What The Home Down The Street Sold For

Learn more
Real Estate Blog